I am a Backstage Kind of Person

Life is funny. Back in 1998 while in a corporate communications position I had the assignment of hosting a Ph.D. candidate who was to interview a number of “my” high technology executives for his dissertation.

As a “good” hostess, I arranged to meet him upon his arrival to town and took him for a tour of the sights and sounds of Minneapolis/Saint Paul complete with dinner at Dixie’s on Grand. During our “get to know you” discussion, we spoke about what we both liked and disliked about our professions, getting advanced degrees, and more. It was actually fun.

And oddly enough this “stranger” taught me a really important lesson about me. He noted that I was a backstage girl – the kind of person who works like a fiend behind the scenes to make everyone else look good. Pretty perceptive and spot on.

We got his interviews taken care of the next day and he was back on a plane to UC -Irvine. We exchanged a handful of emails as he wrapped up the Ph.D. and I presented my Master’s thesis. I think the last time I heard from him – he encouraged me to enjoy my time on stage accepting my degree.

But when I’m burning the midnight oil tweaking some writing or worrying about a detail and wonder if anyone cares, I remember my friend telling me that “it’s the backstage people that make things happen.”

This entry was posted in Behind the scenes and tagged , , , by Emily. Bookmark the permalink.

About Emily

I'm a behind the scenes kind of girl. Happiest when being creative and applying using unusual combinations to solve problems. Professionally trained as a marketer, with an eclectic collection of experiences, I love putting the pieces together and making them "sing". Learn more about my business ideas at my blog https://emboldenbiz.wordpress.com/ or at my website www.pro-re-nata-comm.com While my profession as a communication strategist makes up a huge aspect of my life, I'm also a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mom and hopefully one of the best friends I can possibly be. Personally - I'm a little self-depreciating, usually quick to point out any mistake I may have made. But am learning that the chips and cracks are what gives me character. If I'm not on the computer - either cursing iWeb or cheering that I modified html code - then I might be in the garden, sewing or knitting, chopping something up in the kitchen or trying to figure out which "My Little Pony" in my daughter's collection is Star Sing or chasing my Hurricane Katrina rescue dog down the block for exercise. I write about these crazy adventures in a blog at http://empiricalone.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment